Nouns and Declensions In Sanskrit

Course Content

  1. The first declension / Nominative case
  2. Introduction to rAmAyaNam
  3. The second declension / Objective case, the simple present tense
  4. Introduction to nAtya-shAstram
  5. The third declension / Instrumental case, the future tense
  6. Introduction to pancha-tantram
  7. The third declension / Instrumental case, the imperative mood
  8. Introduction to vyakarana-shAstram
  9. The fourth declension / Dative case
  10. Introduction to mahAbhAratam
  11. The fifth declension / Ablative case
  12. Introduction to darshana-shAstram

Learning Objectives: In this course, students will be able to: 

  • Distinguish and Classify noun declensions;
  • Appreciate basic verses from select passages;
  • Examine and Recognize the grammatical outline of Sanskrit;
  • Practice reading, writing, and composing simple passages; and
  • Use different parts of speech and their variations.

Required / Elective: Required 

Area of Study: Sanskrit Studies

Program of Study: Certificate Program in Sanskrit Proficiency (CP SP)

Prerequisites: Successful completion of SAN-1002 

Faculty / Instructor: Sri Chandrashekhar Raghu / Sri Srinath Chakravarthy

Quarter Offered: Fall 2020

Start Date: September 21st, 2020

End Date: December 12th, 2020

Day: Every Wednesday & Friday

Time: 9:00-10:30pm EST

Your Cart